Mason Jar Decor

I recently became tired of my living room wall sconces and decided to switch them up a bit.  The old ones were chipped and outdated.  So instead of buying all new sconces, I decided to make my own out of mason jars I had collected.

Anyone can make them… It was super easy and they turned out great!

Mason Jar Wall Sconces

To make these super-easy Hanging Mason Jar Vases, you will need:

Supplies

- 1 glass mason jar

- 1 votive candle

- a handful of glass pebbles

- craft wire (about 22 gauge or heavier)

- wire cutters and needle-nose pliers

- (Optional) seed beads

- (Optional) thin craft wire (24 gauge or lighter)

I simply placed the votive into the mason jar and surrounded it with the glass pebbles. 

Then I wrapped the heavier gauge craft wire around the mouth of the jar and created two loops directly across on each side.  I made sure that the loops were wrapped well, creating a strong enough hold that the jar would not slide out once it was hung.  I then snipped off any excess pieces.

Then I took another piece of the heavy gauge wire and created my “handle” from with the jar would hang from.  I measured it so that it would hang where I would want it to and then added an inch or so on each end.  I then wrapped the wire securely to the other piece of wire around the mouth of the jar.  You can see here how the two came together:

Once I did that on both sides, it was ready to hang.  However, I wanted to add a bit of color to the jar, so I created a beaded vine by using the light gauge wire and seed beads and twisting them into little clusters that somewhat resemble a vine of flowers.

I then wrapped the vine around the existing “handle”.

The end result was just the look I wanted!  And the whole process took me about an hour to complete.

Here are a few ideas to expand on this craft:

- Change the color of the votive candles or the glass pebbles to add even more color.

- Change up the beaded vine as well or add more to make the vine look fuller.

- Take the candles out and add fresh flowers in the spring.

- Hang several jars from ceiling hooks above a window.

- Hang outdoors on porches or around a garden and use citronella candles to keep the bugs away.

The possibilities are endless!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sara
    Feb 20, 2012 @ 11:04:27

    Those are so cute! What a great idea Tera!! =D

    Reply

  2. Melissa
    Aug 20, 2012 @ 10:05:59

    Where did you get the hook to hang it?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 355 other followers

