Creative Break?

How did I know that I would not be able to go an entire weekend without some sort of creative adventure?  I know I said I didn’t have time, and that I was going to take a break from my projects… Who was I trying to kid?

The weekend started with the Mat Kearney concert.  As much as I enjoyed the show, I found myself drifting away from the music at times to brainstorm.  At one point, two women in front of me stood next to each other – one wearing a pale turquoise top and the other wearing a rusty-red and brown top.  As they stood next to each other, I thought “I must make a necklace in those colors!!”  I thought about just strands and strands of seed beads, each strand one of those colors, wrapped and twisted… 

Then, at another point during the evening, I saw a woman with a wrap necklace that totally got me thinking.  I didn’t like the beads that were used to make it (cheap and mass manufactured), but there was something about the piece that started to inspire me.  I have made many wrap necklaces before, but this one used a unique combo of medium-sized gemstone beads next to some oval-shaped silver rings and then small seed beads in between the clusters of silver and gemstone.  I thought if I used some very elegant, classy pearls or even mother of pearl beads in combination with the silver… 

Then my focus went back to Mat.  Then back to the ladies in the tops.  Then back to Mat. 

And this was just Friday night.

Luckily, Saturday was BUSY.  If I wasn’t helping my daughter with her costume, funk-i-fying her hair or creating the perfect Zombie color combo with make-up, I was driving her from party to party, house to house, all so that she could get 6 lbs. of candy (most of which she will never eat and will eventually find its way to the trash can before next Halloween). 

Finally, on Sunday I started with a major cleaning of two of the rooms in my house.  I spent the majority of the time contemplating how I was going to reorganize and redecorate the office/craft room.  I found the perfect desk and organization system on the Pottery Barn website – but then realized it was going to cost me close to 2 grand to get everything that I wanted.  New plan I guess.  Time to search Craigslist and Ebay.

I spent what little weekend I had left working on some more Cakeballs.  Pumpkin spice cake with cream cheese frosting and white chocolate coating.  I got everything done except for the coating.  I will post a photo as soon as I get them finished. 

In the meantime…

Pumpkin Cake Balls

I began with yellow cake mix, 1 – 15oz can of pumpkin, 4 tsp pumpkin spice, 2 tsp baking soda, 3 eggs, 1/4 cup water and 1/4 cup of veg oil.  Mixed and baked on 350 for 45 minutes.

Again, once the cake was done, I crumbled into a large mixing bowl and blended with an entire container of cream cheese frosting.  I rolled the dough into balls just larger than marbles, but smaller than ping-pong balls.  Then I set them into a container and placed them in the freezer overnight. 

Tonight, I will melt white chocolate candy (from Michael’s) in my double-boiler and coat each of the balls in white chocolate.

Leave a Reply

