Have I become a Grinch?

I’ve noticed that in the past few years, I have become less and less excited about Christmas.  I use to look forward to it every year… baking cookies, going out at 4 in the morning on black Friday, finding just the right gift, decorating the house, ornately wrapping presents with fun paper, tags and big colorful bows…  I would do all of it, and I would do it with a smile on my face.

Now I have to drag my butt to the store to find gifts.  I don’t bake nearly as much as I use to.  I put off decorating until I absolutely feel I have to… and I have noticed that half of my decorations never make it out of the box.  I still love the idea of Christmas, but it just doesn’t seem as magical as it use to.  It has become a lot like a papsmear… I know it has to happen, however, I feel it will go a lot smoother for everyone if I could just be sedated the entire time.

I had all these ideas earlier in the year for “Hand-Crafted” gifts that I was going to create for Christmas gifts.  And even though I am still making a lot of my gifts by hand, I have compromised and purchased many “substitutes”.  Instead of sewing or knitting, I bought scarves and purses.  instead of making handmade soaps and sugar scrubs, I went to Bath and Body Works. 

I am so disappointed in myself.  I guess I still have time to redeem myself by getting done some of the projects that I set out to do… but I am not trying to kid myself.  Maybe I’ll start working of presents for next year…

(On a positive note, I have watched either National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation, Elf and/or A Christmas Story every day since Thanksgiving.  At least one tradition is still alive and well!)

Leave a Reply

