Scrapbooking without the scrapbook

So, I am not a big “Scrapbooker”.  I don’t know why, but every time I sit down to put together a scrapbook, I get bored and leave it unfinished.  So I have found that if I use Scrapbook paper and embellishments in other forms of art, I don’t get tired of them as easily and enjoy doing it.  Maybe I have a short attention span… Or maybe I just don’t like the idea of keeping my work in a “book” – I would rather have it out in the open, displayed for everyone to see.

So anyway, I made this paper sign for my niece who has a jungle themed room.  I love the way it turned out and it was super easy to do.

Wall / Door Sign

I cut small squares of cute jungle-themed paper and then glued them on to a large pink square.  Then I glued that on to a slightly larger green square to add a little more “stiffness”.  I adhered some cute chipboard letters spelling out her name and added some monkeys.  Then I simply hole punched a couple of holes and ran a ribbon through to hang the sign. 

a closer look...

Very simple, very quick and I think it turned out pretty cute!  I hope she likes it (she’s 6 weeks old – how picky could she be?).

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Me
    Jan 09, 2010 @ 01:29:28

    Good points, I think I will definitely subscribe! I’ll go and read some more! What do you see the future of this being?

    Reply

  2. Dave at Rings & Things
    Jan 11, 2010 @ 16:44:03

    🙂 She’ll love it — when she’s older, too. Thanks for this fun multipurposing idea. And thank you for the “favorite sites” link to us, we certainly appreciate this!

    Dave
    at Rings & Things

    Reply

Leave a Reply

