Creativity is….. Sideways?

I love to give gifts.  I especially love to find the “perfect” gift for someone and to see their face when they open it.  When it comes to presents, I am always trying to find or do something memorable.  I learned from my aunt Joyce, who always found the coolest, most unique gifts for people.  They were always just perfect.  I don’t know how she did it, but I strive everyday to be as good of a gift-giver as she was.  

That being said, for my sister’s 40th birthday, I decided to take her out for coffee and then to a local pottery painting studio.  I was really excited.  There is a “Color Me Mine” here in Spokane, so I let her pick anything she wanted and I picked up the bill.  Of course, being my sister, she picked out a simple, small, non-expensive vase.  But, that is my sister… something big and extravagant just wouldn’t have been her.

While by sister picked out her project, I found a square plaque that I thought would make a great sign for the door of my craft room.  It had two holes in the top so I could hang it with ribbon or wire.  I thought out my design and the two of us got painting. 

It took two days for me to finish my sign.  Between the talking and laughing that was going on the first night and my need for lots of detail and color, I put a good 4 hours into this one piece.  But I was very pleased with it.  The colors were perfect for the room.  The design was exactly my style.  And the lettering looked pretty good… that is until I realized that I had forgotten to make sure that the holes to hang the plaque were in the right spot.  That is right…. my sign is sideways.

Notice the holes on the right hand side…

My once sign is now a trivet....

Creativity is messy… and not perfect, either.  Ironic isn’t it?

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Laura
    Dec 18, 2010 @ 09:47:19

    LOL! Thanks for sharing this fun story! Lord knows…I can identify! :O)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

