Snickerdoodle Cupcakes

I attempted a little baking experiment last night that I wanted to share!

Snickerdoodle Cupcakes! (insert royal trumpet music here)

I visited a small french cafe a few weeks back and indulged in one of their fine pastries.  I have always been a fan of snickerdoodles, and I (like most people) love cupcakes, so when I saw that the two had a baby and sold them out of the cooler at Madeline’s Cafe… well, needless to say I was ecstatic!

Now, I am not dogging on Madeline’s cupcake.  It was good.  But my expectations being so high, I was a little disappointed.  I definitely thought it could be better – so I decided to make it so.

I am no Martha Stewart.  I bake from mixes as often as I can, and I believe that is okay.  I think if you do it right, mixes can be just as good.  So here is my “recipe” for Snickerdoodle cupcakes.

Pillsbury Moist Supreme White Cake Mix

1 cup water

1/3 cup oil

3 eggs

1/4 cup sugar

1 tbsp cinnamon

I mixed the above ingredients and baked the cupcakes as directed.  Once they cooled, I took another 1/4 cup sugar and 1 tbsp of cinnamon and mixed it in a small bowl.  I frosted the cupcakes with “whipped” vanilla frosting and then dipped them into the sugar/cinnamon mixture.

Mmmmmmmm.......

I’m telling you, that doughboy and I have a wonderful relationship.  Delicious!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. charskitchen
    Apr 28, 2010 @ 19:42:44

    wow, these seem like such an interesting flavour…i definitely want to try them! if you’re ever in need of some more cupcakes you can come to my blog at http://www.charskitchen.wordpress.com , where i would love some feedback from such an experienced baker!

    Reply

  2. Malerie {postscripted}
    Apr 30, 2010 @ 20:02:33

    wow- snickerdoodles are my all time favorite cookie- I’m going to have to try your cupcake version!

    Reply

  3. Trackback: Tweets that mention Snickerdoodle Cupcakes « Creativityismessy's Blog -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

