Hosting a Bunco Party!

So, I know it was over a month ago, but I am just getting around to sharing about the lovely Bunco party that I hosted in July.  

I play Bunco every second Tuesday of the month with a wonderful group of ladies that were introduced to me by my sister-in-law.  Each month a different person hosts, and in July, it was my turn.  

Now anyone that knows me, knows that I love to host a good party.  I love to cook for people, and I LOVE to give gifts.  Lucky for me, one of the tasks of hosting a Bunco party is finding gifts to use for “prizes”.  I was so excited to do this, because this year I was determined to find all of my gifts handmade from Etsy.  Even better, I decided that all the gifts that I would buy would be handmade from members of my Eastern Washington Etsy Team.  The trick was finding things within the very limited budget that we are given when hosting the party.  I was going to have to put on my super frugal hat for this task!  

I chose items from 3 of my fellow EWAT members; Sentimental Stones, Orangethyme and Sagegold Soaps.  Each of these 3 sellers had great products, all different from each other and all within my budget.  

Sentimental Stones is an amazing shop run by Kim Murphy in the Spokane Valley.  Kim is a total sweetheart and an amazing artist.  She makes jewelry, coasters, magnets and other items from tile.  She also makes the cutest magnetic boards, which look so lovely with her tile magnet sets.  Lucky for me, Kim was running a special deal for 5 of her 2″ stone magnets (exactly how many I needed).  I chose 5 different designs that I thought would appeal to everyone.  They were absolutely beautiful, and extremely well made.  I couldn’t have been more happy with my purchase.  

Memo board with small magnet set (4), one 2" magnet and 2 coasters

Visit Sentimental Stones at http://www.etsy.com/shop/sentimentalstones  

   

My next purchase was something I was really looking forward to.  I had been ooh-ing and ahh-ing at this shop for quite some time.  Rachael O’Brien at Orangethyme makes the most amazing lip balms, soaps and perfumes and she has a second shop where she creates some beautiful jewelry pieces.  I myself had been dying to try her lip balms, so I decided that they would be a wonderful addition to my prize packs.  With scents like Creme Brule, Peppermint, Sangria, Pomegranate Lemonade and much, much more… how could you go wrong?  They were absolutely tremendous and such a HUGE hit!  

Lip Balm from Orangethyme

 You can pick some up for yourself at http://www.etsy.com/shop/orangethyme  

or visit her jewelry site at http://www.etsy.com/shop/rachel323  

  

Finally, I decided to purchase handmade soaps from Sagegold Soaps in the Tri Cities.  Kerry Biglin at Sagegold has amazing soaps and always has a great offer in her shop – 4 bars of your choice for $15.  All I had to do was purchase the 5th bar and I had one for each gift!  The big dilemma was choosing just 5!  They all sounded good enough to eat!  

Now, when the package came in the mail, I immediately opened it up and spent the next few hours just “sniffing” the soaps.  They were amazing!  They were deliciously fragrant, but not overbearing, and they were packaged beautifully.  

Sagegold Soaps

You can see Kerry’s shop at http://www.etsy.com/shop/sagegold  

   

In addition to these gifts I threw in a pair of earrings made by me, and then I packaged them up in colorful tissue paper and some cute little decorative take out boxes.  The winners were very please.  And the losers… well, I can’t speak for everyone, but I’m jealous!!  

   

In addition to providing the prizes, the hostess also provides dinner and dessert.  Below is the recipe for my Margarita Ice Cream Pie – which was also a huge hit!  

Ingredients:  

1 (1.5qt) container of no sugar added vanilla ice cream 

1 (6oz) container of frozen concentrated limeade 

 1-1/2 cups crushed pretzels (I stick mine in the food processor to get a fine mix) 

 3/4 cup melted butter or margarine  

1/3 cup sugar  

 1 container cool-whip (thawed)  

2 shots of tequilla (optional)  

I prefer to use  a spring-form pan (like you would use for cheesecake) for ice cream pies/cakes, but a deep dish pie pan will do as well.   In medium bowl, combine the crushed pretzels, melted butter and sugar. Press into the bottom of your pan until you have a thick, flat layer.  Freeze for about 30 minutes. 

While the crust is freezing, in a medium-sized bowl, spoon in small scoops of the ice cream.  Add limeade concentrate and the tequila if desired (this doesn’t cook out, so if you are serving kids or pregnant women, you may want to leave it out).  With electric mixer on low-speed, beat just until blended. Pour over frozen crust, carefully smoothing it out to form an even layer.  Cover and freeze overnight. 

The next day top with the Cool Whip and freeze an additional 30 minutes or until ready to serve.   Serves 8-12 people.  Or 4 in certain families… 1 if I have had a really bad day…

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Malerie @postscripted
    Aug 19, 2010 @ 21:41:46

    What fun prizes! That pie sounds delicious- I’m going to have to try it!

    Reply

  2. Lisa
    Aug 19, 2010 @ 21:56:11

    What fun!!! Excellent idea with the gifts.. and the pie sounds to die for!
    ~:o)

    Reply

  3. Laura
    Aug 19, 2010 @ 22:19:41

    Tera, you are the hostess with the mostest! LOL! Great prizes!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

