I’m so impressed with myself….

I just love it when I get an idea, and the darn thing actually works out!

A few months ago, I acquired 4 rusty, vintage skeleton keys.  Typically, I would just seal them and then use them in jewelry.  However, I wanted to give these particular keys had quite a bit of rust to them so I thought it would be cool if I added a “patina” look to each of the keys before I sealed them.  Not having any idea how I was going to do this, I headed to Michael’s and began brainstorming (or as my husband calls it, walking up and down every damn aisle 4 or 5 times).

After all was said and done, I decided to try the simplest method I could think of to add the patina look.  I simply grabbed a small bottle of turquoise craft paint and a sponge brush and headed home to experiment.

I added a little bit of paint to each of the keys, and then wiped them with a damp cloth to make it look more natural.  Once I got the look I wanted, I sealed them with a clear spray sealant and let them dry.

My favorite finished key

Now I just have to find a good “aged” chain and a few dangles to accent it.  You should see the finished product very soon in my shop!

**UPDATE**

Just listed!  Rust and Patina Vintage Skeleton Key Necklace.  Check it out here: http://www.etsy.com/listing/67324034/rust-and-patina-vintage-skeleton-key

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. funkyfeisty
    Feb 04, 2011 @ 10:45:53

    That turned out great. Isn’t it funny how sometimes the simplest answer gets the best results? I’m new to your blog but intend on stopping back.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

